I should not have not been surprised

This morning a friend of mine passed away.  He was born with medical challenges such that I don’t know that anyone thought he would live into his forties, but God sustained him.  Recently he learned that complications of his medical condition had progressed to where he had days to months to live.  We knew it was close, but week after week he was still at church.  So this morning, it really came as a shock to learn that he had passed away. Should I have been surprised?  No. God had provided warning after warning of what was coming.  
I wonder how many people (including myself) will have the same reaction when Jesus Christ returns.  He said he would return, but how many of us are just waiting to see Him next Sunday? No one knows the day nor the hour that Jesus will return.  He will come like a thief in the night at an hour we do not expect.  Fortunately,  my friend knew Jesus Christ as his personal savior. He was ready and now he has a new body in Christ.  I will miss him, but I am thankful to know that I will get to see him again.
If you don’t know Jesus Christ as your savior and have not trusted Him for the forgiveness of your sins, I pray that you would not wait. Jesus said he would come, but He has been gracious to give us time so that no one would miss out.

2 Peter 3:9 ESV
The Lord is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing that any should perish, but that all should reach repentance.

Someday, He will return. He even tells us the signs to look for in Matthew 24. I just pray that we all would be ready.

Leave a Reply

